19
Sep
16

I thank you, Lord of Earth and Heaven

I thank you, Lord of earth and heaven,
That from the wise you’ve hidden light
But unto babes your truth have given,
For this was pleasing in your sight.
Into the hands of Christ, the Son,
All things are from the Father given.
His purpose is to make him known;
It was for this he came from heaven.
No one can truly know the Son
Except the Father on the throne.
The Father none can know, not one
Unless the Son should make him known.
To weary ones bowed down with sin
The Savior calls with tender voice
And promises sweet rest within
To all who in his name rejoice.
“Come unto me,” he calls aloud
To helpless ones who’ve fallen down
And lie beneath the heavy load
Of sin, and of Jehovah’s frown.
“Take on my yoke and learn from me
For I, in heart, am meek and low.”
In coming you will be made free
And given grace my rest to know.
Randy Seiver
Based on Matthew 11:25-29


3 Responses to “I thank you, Lord of Earth and Heaven”


  1. September 19, 2016 at 3:55 pm

    Amen and amen! We had a YUGE thunderstorm here Sat night. As I was teaching Sunday school the next morning, I asked the folks if that did not remind them of Mt Sinai and of Christ’s return. God cracked the sky and shook the earth! How awesome He is and I think this was a reminder of past judgment and coming judgment.

    • September 19, 2016 at 3:58 pm

      Stuart,

      Glad you weren’t harmed by the display of God’s power. Always good to hear from you.

      • September 19, 2016 at 4:00 pm

        The entire 16 years we lived in Houston, maybe 4 or 5 thunderstorms and none of them awesome. It is so nice to be in an area where we get reminded of His power several times a year. It is COMFORTING to have that which can be shaken rattled – reminds me of what CANNOT be shaken!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.