11
Nov
17

Dohse/Seiver debate on Justification

See my opening statement in two parts at:

 

As soon as Paul makes his opening statement, I will post a link to it.

9 Responses to “Dohse/Seiver debate on Justification”


  1. November 15, 2017 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks for this, my brother. Clear teaching on the important topic of justification. Very good! I will be looking to see if Dohse responds.

    • November 16, 2017 at 12:43 pm

      Stuart,

      He has responded, even taking exception with the areas in which I said we were in agreement. His “response” was over two hours long in which he bloviated about how I was not conformed to Protestant orthodoxy in matters such as God working in his people a righteousness that is our own in sanctification. He stated that my view was closer to Roman Catholicism, and on and on. Of course, he again accused Calvinists of teaching progressive justification, citing what he calls “The Calvin Institutes.”

      The man seems to have the intelligence of a worm at best. I responded with three more videos but that is going to be the end of it. I only did it because some of his followers challenged me to debate him, but I never expected to have a mutually intelligent interchange with him.

      • November 16, 2017 at 12:47 pm

        Egad! This saddens but does not surprise me. When I read Joel what-ever-his-name-is and he brought Dohse’s stuff to his blog, I was amazed at how dense and defensive and inattentive he was to anyone other than himself. I’ve read a good bit from Dohse and while he is not completely without truth, he is a difficult person to relate to. Makes me seem more human!

  2. November 16, 2017 at 12:53 pm

    He has become even more bizarre since those days. He has now concluded that Jesus came to destroy the law, not to fulfill it. Since there is no law for believers to sin against, we cannot sin and are therefore justified before God.

    • November 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm

      If he believes that, John says he is liar! Without specifying what law Christ fulfilled (or destroyed, in Dohes’ mind) it’s impossible to even discuss the consequence! Jesus fulfilled all the Old Covenant that was required for Him to prove Himself to be without sin (He didn’t have to fulfill any marriage laws since He did not take a wife). Yet God holds ALL men accountable for the law that even Gentiles have and even the redeemed are clearly said to be accountable to the law of Christ, the royal law, the law of the Spirit, the law of freedom! Unable to sin? Not in this age! I’m with John. Dohse is a liar!


Leave a Reply

