31
Jul
16

Before the Throne of God Above

Before the throne of God above I have a strong, a perfect plea;
A great High Priest, whose name is Love, who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on his hands, my name is written on his heart;
I know that while in heaven he stands no tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair and tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see him there who made an end of all my sin.
Because the sinless Savior died, my sinful soul is counted free;
For God the Just is satisfied to look on him and pardon me.
Behold him there! the risen Lamb, my perfect, spotless righteousness;
The great unchangeable “I AM,” the King of glory and of grace!
One with himself, I cannot die, my soul is purchased by his blood;
My life is hid with Christ on high, with Christ my Savior and my God.
Charitie Bancroft

7 Responses to “Before the Throne of God Above”


  1. 1 Ariel D. Moya Sequeira
    August 1, 2016 at 3:33 am

    That’s a good poem!

    Apparently, it can be sung to the melody of “Sweet Hour of Prayer”.

  2. August 1, 2016 at 11:32 am

    People accustomed to shallow hymns testifying of their own efforts to reach God need to ponder hymns such as this one. There is a difference in category and theology. One makes our flesh proud, the other nourishes our spirit and glorifies our Lord.

    • August 3, 2016 at 1:16 pm

      Stuart,

      One of the great theological tragedies of the modern church is that she no longer sings these great, theologically profound hymns. It is my view that people learn more theology [for good or bad] from what we sing than from what is proclaimed from the pulpit.

      • August 3, 2016 at 1:18 pm

        Indeed, there are few assemblies wherein such hymns are sung. We ARE informed by what we sing (and read and watch) and need to be diligent to sing hymns that glorify our great God.

  3. August 2, 2016 at 12:50 am

    I LOVE these lyrics! So rich in theology!


Leave a Reply

