20
Sep
15

YouTube Video–Salvation by Force?

8 Responses to “YouTube Video–Salvation by Force?”


  1. September 22, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    No spiritual bulldozers in YHWH’s garage? What a picture! Right up there with Benny Hinn’s spiritual machine guns 🙂

    We are all (I believe) born again with Arminian theology, as all we can see is with our eyes of flesh. We must, as you taught here, be led to the Scriptures to see what God has been doing in accordance with His will before He raised us from spiritual death. I guess He is a spiritual life giver rather than the operator of a spiritual bulldozer as that fella from Florida imagines.

    While we were His enemies, Christ died for us. Who can resist His will? Who are you, oh man, to talk to YHWH and ask Him why did you make me thus?

    Let the saints praise His name!

    • September 22, 2015 at 1:18 pm

      Good to hear from you Stuart. I believe you are right in saying that we are all born with “do it yourself” religion in our constitutions. Thanks for the comment. Hope all is well with you and yours.

      • September 22, 2015 at 10:51 pm

        We are doing well – although the pastor of the church we joined has turned around from being friendly towards Calvinism, after a Finney revival, and has now called me to repent of the doctrines of grace, called me heretic. sigh

        I am in Chicago on a business trip – traffic reminds me of Houston. Hope to be home in time to watch the Redskins on TV Thurs evening 🙂

      • September 23, 2015 at 12:17 am

        Glad to hear you are doing well but saddened to hear about the pastor’s fall from grace as it were. It is always amazing to me that we are labeled heretics when we are simply taking the Word for what it says. I don’t suppose these folks realize that every one of the early missionaries in the modern missionary movement and every founder of a Southern Baptist Seminary were Calvinists. It was their position, not ours, that was declared heresy at the Synod of Dort, and yet we are the heretics. Are we heretics according to the London Baptist Confessions of 1646 or 1689, or the Philadelphia Confession or the New Hampshire Confession? They would be the ones who are out of step with those confessions that were widely accepted among Baptists. Sigh, indeed.

  2. September 23, 2015 at 12:54 am

    Well done! It’s always interesting to inform Arminian friends who like Spurgeon that he was a Calvinist. 🙂

    • September 23, 2015 at 2:52 am

      You are right my good friend. I am sure it is a mystery to them how we can preach God’s good news so freely. It is always good to hear from you. Hope all is going well. Keep up the good work.

      • September 23, 2015 at 10:08 am

        Things are well. Have our daughter, her husband and four grandkids with us for a time. House is big enough, barely. 🙂 Please pray for my wife Dee’s back. There are issues again. hoping a series of shots will set things in order. We have a new chaplain at Ft. Carson who is taking the congregation into spiritual formation, which I believe,is false teaching and dangerous. I’ve taught the Sunday school class numerous times that I don’t trust the voices in my head and If you want to hear God speak read the Bible and if you want to hear God in an audible voice read it out loud. Finishing Romans finally and will study Galatians next.

        It was good to see you in a video!

      • September 23, 2015 at 1:07 pm

        Dan,

        I am sorry to hear about Dee’s back problem. We will pray for her.

        I am always sad when a series on Romans comes to an end. What a rich book. Galatians is a great study as well. Do you have my book on Galatians? It is called “The Fullness of the Time.” I have thought about putting it on Amazon Kindle. If you don’t have it and if you would like, I can send it to you in a PDF format.


Leave a Reply

