02
Aug
12

CRUCIAL QUESTIONS FOR TRUTH SEEKERS

According to the following verses, what will happen if God has purposed [willed] that something will occur?

Psalm 115:3 But our God is in the heavens: he hath done whatsoever he hath pleased.

Isaiah 14:24 The LORD of hosts hath sworn, saying, Surely as I have thought, so shall it come to pass; and as I have purposed, so shall it stand:

Isaiah 46:9-11 Remember the former things of old: for I am God, and there is none else; I am God, and there is none like me, Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure: Calling a ravenous bird from the east, the man that executeth my counsel from a far country: yea, I have spoken it, I will also bring it to pass; I have purposed it, I will also do it.
Dan 4:35 And all the inhabitants of the earth are reputed as nothing: and he doeth according to his will in the army of heaven, and among the inhabitants of the earth: and none can stay his hand, or say unto him, What doest thou?
According to Ephesians 1:11, is there anything that occurs that is outside God’s purpose?

Eph 1:11 In whom also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestinated according to the purpose of him who worketh all things after the counsel of his own will:

According to the following verses, can any sinner come to Jesus in saving faith unless the Father draws him? John 6:44, 65

John 6:44 No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.

John 6:65 And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father.

Who begins the work of salvation, God or the sinner? Phil 1:6; 1 John 4:10; 19.

Phil 1:6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

I Jn 4:10 Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

I Jn 4:19 We love him, because he first loved us.

Who opens the sinner’s heart and makes him receptive to the truth of God’s Word? Acts 16:14

Acts 16:14 And a certain woman named Lydia, a seller of purple, of the city of Thyatira, which worshipped God, heard us: whose heart the Lord opened, that she attended unto the things which were spoken of Paul.

Do sinners believe the gospel through grace or because of sinful nature? Acts 18:27.

Acts 18:27 And when he was disposed to pass into Achaia, the brethren wrote, exhorting the disciples to receive him: who, when he was come, helped them much which had believed through grace:

Do sinners in the state of nature in which we were born, naturally seek after God? Psalm 14:1-3; 58:3-5; Rom 3:11.

Ps 14:1-3 The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. The LORD looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, and seek God. They are all gone aside, they are all together become filthy: there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

Ps 58:3-5 The wicked are estranged from the womb: they go astray as soon as they be born, speaking lies. Their poison is like the poison of a serpent: they are like the deaf adder that stoppeth her ear; Which will not hearken to the voice of charmers, charming never so wisely.

Rom 3:11 There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God.

Even though sinners have the responsibility to choose to believe in Christ, who made the first choice, God or the sinner? John 15:16; Eph. 1:4; 2 Thess. 2:13-14; 2 Tim 1:8-10 1 John 4:19.

John 15:16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.

Eph 1:4 According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:

II Th 2:13-14 But we are bound to give thanks alway to God for you, brethren beloved of the Lord, because God hath from the beginning chosen you to salvation through sanctification of the Spirit and belief of the truth: Whereunto he called you by our gospel, to the obtaining of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.

2 Tim 1:8-10 Be not thou therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner: but be thou partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God; Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began, But is now made manifest by the appearing of our Saviour Jesus Christ, who hath abolished death, and hath brought life and immortality to light through the gospel:

I Jn 4:19 We love him, because he first loved us.

Does the Bible ever say God hates those who work iniquity [sinners]? Psalm 5:5

Ps 5:5 The foolish shall not stand in thy sight: thou hatest all workers of iniquity.

Does the Bible ever say God hates some and loves others?; Romans 9:13

Romans 9:13 As it is written, Jacob have I loved, but Esau have I hated.

Is it God’s will or the sinner’s will that makes the final determination as to who will be saved? Romans 9:15-18.

Rom 9:15-18 For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy. For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth. Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

If you have believed the gospel and others haven’t, who makes you different from them, you or God? 1 Cor. 4:7

1 Cor 4:7 For who maketh thee to differ from another? and what hast thou that thou didst not receive? now if thou didst receive it, why dost thou glory, as if thou hadst not received it?

CAN YOU IMAGINE A BUMPER STICKER ON THE BACK OF NOAH’S ARK THAT READ, “SMILE, GOD LOVES YOU?”

0 Responses to “CRUCIAL QUESTIONS FOR TRUTH SEEKERS”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

