13
Nov
11

God Must Soften the Sinner’s Heart

C. H. Spurgeon wrote,  “While I regarded God as a tyrant, I thought sin a trifle. But when I knew Him to be my Father, then I mourned that I could ever have kicked against Him. When I thought that God was hard, I found it easy to sin. But when I found God so kind, so good, so overflowing with compassion, I smote upon my breast to think that I could have rebelled against One who loved me so and sought my good.” What a softening effect the gospel has on the sinner’ s heart when God, in sovereign grace, breaks down his rebellion and grants him ears to hear and a heart to understand.  Otherwise, even the most eloquent proclamation, the most logical reasoning, the most moving  narratives will not produce the desired effect. Nothing is calculated to soften the rebel’s heart as effectively as the gospel of Christ.  Nothing will quell our thirst for sin, like the good news that there is a fountain open for sin and uncleanness and a powerful Savior who waits with open arms to receive repenting sinners.

0 Responses to “God Must Soften the Sinner’s Heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

